The Beard Cabin was the first building built in Shawnee after the land run of September 22, 1891. The two-story cabin was built in 1891 by Etta Ray Beard, her father, future brother-in-law John Beard and future sister-in-law Lola Beard, near the southeast corner of Highland Street and Kickapoo Street, the west line of the 1891 land run.
Etta Ray married Henry Beard in November of the same year and they lived in the cabin until they built another house next to the cabin. Museum visitors can tour the fully furnished cabin and experience the challenges of daily life for participants of the Oklahoma land runs.
The cabin was moved to Woodland Park as a historical site where it was a project of the Campfire Girls, who provided most of the furniture in the cabin today. Damaged by a tornado in 1999, the cabin was moved to the Santa Fe Depot grounds and repaired with the help of the Cleo Craig Foundation and Rich and Ge'Nell Austin.